realization.

Posted: Sat, Aug 27, 11 in Journal

yea, i’m new here. first time ever “blogging”, but i kinda just recently found out that i like to write, so i’m gonna try this out. honestly, i just recently found out a lot of things about myself.

1. i found out that the littlest things bother me for the oddest reasons.

2. i found out that it takes a while for me to realize things, or get a hint.

3. i found out that i have no idea what i want to do when i graduate college.

2nd year in university, you would think that i may have some idea, but everytime i think i have an idea, it changes. first i declared elementary education as my major, then changed to music ed, then back to elem ed, then to mathematics, broadcasting and now i have crash landed at journalism/public relations. the thing that bothers me the most is that some of my majors relate in no way, shape or form to the other (one of the little things that bother me).

but now that i’ve declared journalism/public relations, i figure that since i like to write, i should try to make it work. plus with church music as a minor i can work something out…like songwriting. i’ve written songs since i was like 7. yea a lot of them were stupid and silly, but the point is that i know it’s something that i like to do. but i feel like it could be hard to make money by just songwriting, and since i will be trying to support a family that probably won’t be the smartest idea. sooo, part time songwriter, full time……?

this past summer I work at a camp in maryland called camp sonshine, and it was honestly an experience to remember. I loved every single part of it, even waking up at 6am every morning! but the thing that i loved the most was the relationships that i built with my campers. it was, without a doubt, the time i have been the most happiest in my entire life.

so fact, i like to work with children, but i’ve come to the conclusion that i really don’t want to be a teacher, even though that’s what i planned on doing my entire childhood. but instead, i would love to work in a camp sonshine setting for the rest of my life. i would love to be able to just talk to children, build friendships with them, and just share the love of Christ with them. i would love to go into children’s ministry.

so, i’m in college, majoring in journalism/public relations and minoring in church music, and i want to become a children’s minister… i know this seems a little odd, but for some reason this works for me. my university has a children’s ministry minor that i think i’m gonna pick up. and i’m gonna go to college for four years+ just to go into a career that’s only one semesters worth of work. call me crazy, but for some reason, i don’t feel like this is a dumb decision. maybe God has a plan for me. maybe i’m supposed to use journalism, public relations and music to help reach the life of some lost children. or maybe i am supposed to take up songwriting as a part time job. but one things that i know is for certain. my calling is to become some type of children’s minister. God has opened my eyes to this over the summer, and i’m just now realizing it (yeahhh…). but i’m glad i know now, because i’m excited for all of my classes; every single one of them. ALL of them will play a BIG role in helping to save lives. i don’t know when, i don’t know how, but i know God, and with God all things are possible. -matt 19:26

-cw

Leave a Reply

