blog comments.

Posted: Sat, Sep 24, 11 in Blog Comments (COMM 2322)

1. “I’ll Never Grow Up” by Jessi Ellerbe

coreywest said:

September 24, 2011 at 1:41 am

Hey now! I love me some JIF! I never was too big on Peter Pan peanut butter (maybe because I’m not really a fan of Peter Pan), but i do remember when this happened. And the little kid in me took it upon myself to destroy every Peter Pan peanut butter jar I saw.

One time I went over to my aunts house and she had a jar of Peter Pan. I trashed it and with excitement I went to go tell my aunt that I had just saved her life. To my surprise she yelled at me and pulled it out of the garbage can and I just stood their confused. I really don’t know if she ever ate peanut butter from that jar, and if she did, it must have been fine. I don’t remember her getting sick. I just remember that what I thought was a good deed really was a bad idea.

Moral of the story: never touch a girl’s peanut butter.

Full blog post.

2. ‘World Wide Web in ’96 compared to Today”by Sarah Allen

coreywest says:

September 24, 2011 at 2:33 AM

I think technology has changed so much since then that it’s actually attracting more people. Back in 1996 Facebook and Twitter were the last thing on everyone’s mind and now it’s like we can’t live without it. Sadly, most of us are wasting our lives sitting in front of a computer screen for most of the day. The internet has found ways to make sitting in front of a computer screen look more satisfying than doing anything else.

Full blog post.

3. “EMI Music” by Jessi Ellerbe

coreywest said

October 11, 2011 at 11:00 am Hey! if you work for EMI and I work for Sparrow Records, then our jobs will be somewhat similar! Haha, Sparrow Records is a division of EMI. But this does sound like a winner. I mean anything with EMI and NYC sound good to me. I say you go for it. I’m on this new thing where I’m fed up with letting people discourage me from what I want to do, for any reason. So if you feel this is where God has called you, don’t hesitate!

You’re great Jessi!

Full blog post.

4. “Nuh-Uh! McD’s Would Never Deceive Me! What!?!” by Isa Ramos

coreywest on October 15, 2011 at 10:39 PM said:

Haha this is hilarious! But at the same time it is so true. I never really realized it until I read this blog post. I’m pretty sure that the restaurant sales would go down if they advertised their food the way it actually appeared. Most of us judge food by their appearance first. I know that I am guilty of this. But I never really paid attention to it as I ate it. I was always more focused on my hunger. But I’m pretty sure that now I will start paying more attention. Good job!

Full blog post.

5. “Enough Already With the Bad PowerPoints!” by relationsofthepublic

coreywest on October 16, 2011 at 5:49 pm said:

Before I knew anything about presenting and making a PowerPoint presentation, i would just put all my information that I wanted to say on the slide. Then when I went to make my presentation, I would read directly from the slide. When I saw others do this I realized how boring it was and then thought that my presentations probably were the same. Now, I would like to believe that I know how to give an effective presentation, but there is always room for improvement. Thanks for the great tips!

Full blog post.

6. “Despite economic woes, PR job market continues to grow” by Kevin Allen

coreywest

As a PR major, this is great news for me to hear. I sat in a business class this semester and it seems like the only thing I heard my professor say is “if you are not a business major, you won’t be making a lot of money.” I’m not going to lie, it scared me a little at first; but now knowing that the PR job market is still growing gives me a bit of relief. I love the idea of having a career that is still growing and provides an exciting work environment.
7. “7 essential tips for PR newbies” by Petya N. Georgieva
coreywest
These tips are really helpful and inspiring. Just reading them made me more anxious to graduate from university and to start my career. Just knowing that I would be able to actually put these into practice is more exciting than studying them from a textbook. Thanks for the great advice!
8. “The master guide to retweet success” by Janet Fouts

coreywest
Thanks for the Twitter tips! I’m a frequent twitter user and I try my best to try to make sure that I am not boring my followers. This guide can help me in knowing what to retweet, and how to even have my tweets retweeted. Thanks for the superb advice!
9. “The rule stands: One space after a period. Period.” by Eileen Burmeister
coreywest
I actually found this post a little humorous; especially the part about sailing a boat through the double spaces. I have never used two spaces after a period, but I had instructors, even recently tell me that I should. Every time I tried it, it looked ridiculous and i couldn’t never bring myself to turn it an assignment that way (I’m a bit of a perfectionist I might add). It’s good to know that my single spaced ways are right and I don’t have to switch to the dreaded double space. Thanks, and this way a really great article!
10. “20 clever and amusing Twitter bios” by Mark Schaefer

coreywest

These bio’s were great! My favorite one was from @Rhymetime24. And from @TylerLClark. And this post just earned both of them one new follower on twitter. Good job!
11. “Ice Cream Leaving a Bad Taste” by seravirginia
coreywest on November 22, 2011 at 4:08 pm said:

I already know that I’m a picky eater, so there is no way that i will let ice cream with the name of “Schweddy Balls” enter my mouth; even though it would be interesting just to find out what it actually tasted like. I think that the name is a little inappropriate but there are other things in store that are much worst that this.

Full blog post.

12. “You know you work in PR when…” by Christina Miller

coreywest on November 22, 2011 at 4:40 pm said:

These are pretty funny! I find it interesting that twitter is like taking over the world. There were a couple of the signs that referred to twitter, and weirdly enough, I’m pretty sure i think in 140 characters or less. Good job!

Full blog post.

13. “Tips to land a job after graduation” by seallen1

coreywest says on December 3, 2011 at 11:06 PM

Even though I still have two more years in university, i’m still a little nervous about finding a job after graduation, mainly because i have no idea what exactly it is that i want to do. Even though this won’t help me to come up with a job field i would like to enter, it does give me tips on finding a job.

Thanks Sarah!

Full blog post.

14. “Glee” Tactics? by Jenn Browning

coreywest says

So I have to admit, I’m a gleek myself, and as soon as i saw the picture it caught my eye.

Interesting read and video. Thanks for posting!

Full blog post.

Leave a Reply

